Frank Merle to be honored in 2023 for his 60th birthday
visuel conférence Frank Merle Event

“Advances in Nonlinear Analysis and Nonlinear Waves”, conference in honor of Frank Merle

Frank Merle, a mathematician, and holder of the CY Cergy Paris Université – IHES Chair in Analysis, will be honored during the conference “Advances in Nonlinear Analysis and Nonlinear Waves” organized for his sixtieth birthday, from May 22 to 26, 2023.

Frank Merle has made many important and seminal contributions to the qualitative study of solutions of nonlinear partial differential equations coming from Physics. Merle’s work has been pioneering in the sharp analysis of blowup solutions and of the collision of solitons, as well as in the soliton resolution conjecture. His groundbreaking works have been very influential in the field and beyond.

Throughout his career, Frank Merle received many distinctions, including:

  • ICM Invited Speaker (1998)
  • Bôcher Memorial Prize – American Mathematical Society (2005)
  • Silver Medal – Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (2005)
  • ERC Advanced Grant “Blow-up, Dispersion and Solitons” (2011)
  • ICM Plenary Speaker (2014)
  • Grand prix Ampère de l’électricité de France – French Academy of Sciences (2018)
  • Member of the Academia Europaea (2020)

The scientific objective of the conference is twofold. First, several experts in the field of dispersive and wave equations will present their recent advances. A second objective is to propose some conferences in analysis beyond the field of dispersive PDEs. The Scientific Committee hopes that all talks will be accessible to a general audience in analysis.

Program and registration on the conference webpage.

Find the list of invited speakers:

  • Henri Berestycki, EHESS
  • Nicolas Burq, Université de Paris-Saclay
  • Simon Brendle, Columbia University
  • Maria Colombo, EPFL
  • Panagiota Daskalopoulos, Columbia University
  • Camillo De Lellis, IAS
  • Thierry Giamarchi, Université de Genève
  • François Golse, École polytechnique
  • Oana Ivanovici, CNRS & Sorbonne Université
  • Carlos Kenig, University of Chicago
  • Sergiu Klainerman, Princeton University
  • Pierre-Louis Lions, Collège de France
  • Nader Masmoudi, NYU
  • Hiroshi Matano, Meiji University
  • Andrea Nahmod, University of Massachusetts
  • Felix Otto, Max-Planck Institut fur Mathematik
  • Pierre Raphaël, University of Cambridge
  • Igor Rodnianski, Princeton University
  • Wilhelm Schlag, Yale University
  • Sylvia Serfaty, NYU
  • Daniel Tataru, UC Berkeley
  • Luis Vega, BCAM
  • Sijue Wu, University of Michigan

Scientific Committee: M. Dafermos, A.-L. Dalibard, H. Duminil-Copin, T. Duyckaerts, E. Hebey, Y. Martel, G. Ponce, P. Raphaël, L. Saint-Raymond et H. Zaag

Organising Committee: C. Collot, R. Côte, F. Demengel, T. Duyckaerts, J. Jendrej, Y. Lan, E. Logak, Y. Martel, C. Muñoz, P. Raphaël, J. Szeftel, N. Tzvetkov et H. Zaag