Inaugural Ceremony of the Jean-Pierre Bourguignon Chair - IHES
Jean-Pierre Bourguignon IHES

Inaugural Ceremony of the Jean-Pierre Bourguignon Chair

Thanks to an exceptional donation to the Friends of IHES Endowment Fund made by Claire-Lise and Philippe Tondeur, and matched by Marilyn and Jim Simons through the Simons Foundation International, IHES is proud to announce the creation of a Permanent Professor’s Chair carrying the name of Jean-Pierre Bourguignon, who was the Director of the Institute from 1994 to 2013 and who is now Nicolaas Kuiper Honorary Professor at IHES.

Following the scientific conference organised on January 26th by Dustin Clausen, permanent professor at IHES and first holder of the Jean-Pierre Bourguignon Chair, along with Emmanuel Ullmo, Director of IHES, the Institute will hold an inaugural ceremony at the Marilyn and James Simons Conference Center on February 1st at 5:30 p.m to honor Jean-Pierre Bourguignon, Claire-Lise and Philippe Tondeur on one hand and Marilyn and Jim Simons on the other hand.

The program of the Inaugural Ceremony is the following:

5.30 pm          Welcoming speech by Marwan Lahoud, President of the IHES Board of Directors
5.45 pm          Speech by Claire-Lise & Philippe Tondeur and Marilyn & Jim Simons, major donors
6.00 pm          Speech by Jean-Pierre Bourguignon
6.20 pm          A word by Emmanuel Ullmo
6.30 pm          A word by Dustin Clausen
6.40 pm          Cocktail

We are particularly pleased to have the donors join us online from the United States. In their speech, they will reflect on their longstanding relationship with Jean-Pierre Bourguignon and IHES.

To attend the ceremony online, click here (code: 160668).