Dennis Sullivan, permanent professor from 1974 to 1997 - IHES
Dennis Sullivan

Dennis Sullivan, Mathematician

Permanent professor at IHES from 1974 to 1997

Dennis Sullivan, an American mathematician, split his research activities between the US and France for years. A topologist, specialised in dynamics, he had a rare gift for promoting exchanges among researchers and motivating them to reach new heights in their thinking.

Oswald Veblen Prize in Geometry (1971)
Prix Élie Cartan, French Academy of Sciences (1981)
King Faisal International Prize for Science (1994)
National Medal of Science (2004)
Steele Prize for lifetime achievement (2006)
Wolf Prize in Mathematics (2010)
Fellow of the American Mathematical Society (2012)
Prix Balzan (2014)
Abel Prize (2022)

All professors