Jürg Fröhlich, Permanent professor at IHES from 1978 to 1982 - IHES
Jürg Fröhlich

Jürg Fröhlich, Physicist

Permanent professor at IHES from 1978 to 1982

Jürg Fröhlich works on quantum field theory (including axiomatic quantum field theory, conformal field theory, and topological quantum field theory), on the precise mathematical treatment of models of statistical mechanics, on theories of phase transition, on the fractional quantum Hall effect, and on non-commutative geometry.

Dannie Heineman prize (1991)
Marcel Benoist Prize (1997)
Max Planck Medal of the Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft(2001)
Henri Poincaré Prize (2009)
Member of the Academia Europaea and the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities
Fellow of the American Mathematical Society (2012)


All professors