Scientific Council of IHES

Scientific Council

The Scientific Council has the prerogative of planning the Institute’s scientific work at its twice-yearly meetings. It comprises ex-officio members (the director, the permanent professors, the Léon Motchane professor) and external members who are co-opted for three-year mandates. CNRS Research Directors at IHES and the holder of the Université de Cergy-Pontoise – IHES Analysis Chair are also invited to take part in discussions. The Scientific Council is responsible for recruiting permanent professors, as well as selecting invited researchers and organising the programme of scientific events.

The Scientific Council meets every year in June and December to select future visitors and to debate the Institute’s scientific policy. Together with CNRS and CEA Research Directors at IHES and the holder of the Université de Cergy-Pontoise – IHES Analysis Chair, they select visitors on the basis of excellence alone and ensure that a balance is maintained between theoretical physics and mathematics.

Ex-officio members

Ullmo Emmanuel
French mathematician
IHES Director since 1 September 2013

Clausen Dustin
American mathematician
Permanent professor since 2023

Delcamp Clément
French physicist
Junior professor since 2023

Duminil-Copin Hugo
French mathematician
Permanent professor since 2016

Kontsevich Maxim
French and Russian mathematician
Permanent professor since 1995

Rychkov Slava
Russian physicist
Permanent professor since 2017

Saint-Raymond Laure 
French mathematician
Permanent professor since 2021

Wang Yilin
Chinese mathematician
Junior professor since 2023

External members

Darmon Henri
French ­mathematician
Professor, McGill University
Member since 2024

Kapustin Anton
Russian and American theoretical physicist
Professor, California Institute of Technology
Member since 2023

Kassel Fanny
French ­mathematician
CNRS Senior Researcher at IHES
Member since 2019

Kenig Carlos
American mathematician
Professor, University of Chicago
Member since 2023

Rastelli Leonardo
Italian physicist
Professor, Stony Brook
Member since 2022

Simon Steven
American theoretical physicist
Professor, Oxford University
Membre depuis 2023

The IHES video channel

Since 2013, IHES has uploaded all of its conferences, lectures and public events onto its YouTube channel. View all the scientific events there.